Black Friday Upgrade offer is live! Get 89% off upgrading your PureVPN plan today. Upgrade to 5-year plan now! > Offer valid for existing users only.

macOS App General Settings

Apr 22, 2022
Nov 25, 2022
0 Comments
Download PDF

The settings in the PureVPN app can be adjusted to create a personalized experience that works well for you. If you ever need to, you can always switch back to the default settings with just one click.

Auto-connect after launch

With this feature, you now have the security on the go whenever you wish to use public WiFi spots or in general a network that you don’t trust. Here’s how you can proceed.

Wondering how to switch between protocols? Follow the instructions below 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • In the general settings tab, You will be able to see Auto-connect after launch option.
  • Once it’s turned on. You will be able to see a drop-down menu from where you can choose the desired option to let the application know which location to connect after launching the app. Following options are available to choose from; 

Recommended Location:

By choosing this option the application will automatically connect you to the best location server through the Smart algorithm. Click 👉 here to read more.

Recently Connected Location:

By choosing this option the application will automatically connect you to the last connected location.

Specific Location:

  • By choosing this option the application will connect you to your preferred location.
Note:
This won’t be applicable if your system is in sleep mode.
Show notifications

Don’t miss the VPN connection status notification from PureVPN. Enable notifications to get updated about the PureVPN connection status. To know how to turn on Show VPN connection notifications, follow the instructions below 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app

In the general settings tab, scroll down to be able to see Show vpn connection notifications option.

  • Mark check ☑️ Show vpn connection notifications (if it’s not checked by default)
Hide the PureVPN app icon from the dock

Want more space on your dock while keeping PureVPN active. Here’s how you can proceed.

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • In the general settings tab, scroll down to be able to see the Hide icon from the dock option.
  • Mark check ☑️ Hide icon from the dock (if it’s not checked by default)
Select application language

Looking to use PureVPN in your native language? In the PureVPN application you can find support for all major languages. How to switch between languages? Follow the instructions below 👇 

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • In the general settings tab, you will be able to see Change language option.
  • Click Change language. You may proceed to switch to a different language by selecting one from the available options
  • A pop-up will appear asking to confirm the language change. Click Relaunch now to proceed.
  • PureVPN app will restart and launch into your chosen language.
Start on Launch

Looking for a way to automatically launch PureVPN app upon system start-up. Here is a guide for you to follow:

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • In the general settings tab, scroll down to be able to see the Start on launch option.
  • Mark check ☑️ Start on launch (if it’s not checked by default)

Hurrah! PureVPN app will now start on launch.

Change Appearance of PureVPN

Bored of using PureVPN in the same appearance. You can now select themes in the PureVPN application. 

Wondering how you do it? Follow the below instructions 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • In the general settings tab, You will be able to see Appearance option.
  • Click System default and select your preferred theme option from the drop down menu

Hurrah! PureVPN theme has been successfully changed.

Enable Internet kill switch

Protect your privacy and keep private data secure with a built-in PureVPN internet kill switch feature that protects your internet connection when a VPN connection drops unexpectedly. Keep your data and location safe while you’re online, even after a VPN connection has dropped unexpectedly.

Get an extra layer of privacy without compromising your security. Internet kill switch needs no configuration, works by itself. It turns off VPNs if they unexpectedly drop or disconnect unexpectedly, protecting your data and location from exposure until you’re reconnected.

How to turn this feature on? Follow the instructions below 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • From the General settings, go to the Advanced settings tab by clicking it.

In the advanced settings tab, You will be able to see the Internet kill switch option.

  • Mark check ☑️ Internet kill switch (if it’s not checked by default)

That’s it! You are now even more protected 😉 Your internet will automatically get disconnected upon disconnection.

Auto-Update App

Want to update the PureVPN Windows App but not sure how? Here is the easy-to-follow guide for you. Dont miss out on our upcoming exciting features update your PureVPN app by following the instructions below 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • From the General settings, go to the Advanced settings tab by clicking it.

In the advanced settings tab, You will be able to see the Auto-update app option.

  • Mark check ☑️ Auto-update app (if it’s not checked by default)
Personalise server selection

To enhance the user experience and connectivity PureVPN brings in Personalise server selection feature which automatically connects you simply with those servers from which you had a good overall VPN connection experience. How to enable Personalise server selection? Follow the instructions below 👇

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • From the General settings, go to the Advanced settings tab by clicking it.

In the advanced settings tab, You will be able to see the Personalise server selection option.

  • Mark check ☑️ Personalise server selection (if it’s not checked by default)
Clear Preference

With this option, you can now revert the PureVPN app to its default settings. Want to know how to do it? Follow the instructions below 👇 

  • Click the ⚙️ Preferences option at the left panel of the PureVPN app
  • From the General settings, go to the Advanced settings tab by clicking it.

In the advanced settings tab, scroll down below you will be able to see the Clear preference option.

  • Click Clear preferences to proceed
  • Click on the Clear.
  • Once done, your app preference has been cleared successfully.
Was this article helpful? Rate and share your comments below. Your input matters to us and everyone else in the Cyber Security Community.

How helpful did you find this answer?

Comments (0 )